Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators (amte)


AMTE is the largest professional organization devoted to the improvement of mathematics teacher education — it includes over 1,000 members supporting the preservice education and professional development of K12 teachers of mathematics. Members include professors, researchers, teacher-leaders, school mathematics coordinators, policy experts, graduate students, and others.

Brookhill has sponsored and helped organize several programs partnering with AMTE to advance the work of mathematics education and teacher preparation, math specialists and coaches, and to support early career mathematics educators. 

Elementary Math Specialists

  • 2015 Elementary Mathematics Research (EMS) Conference:  Participants from twenty-four colleges, universities, and organizations from seventeen states convened at the Brookhill Institute to share their research, dialogue about challenges, and plan for future collaborations, dissemination, and publications.
  • In 2010 AMTE published Standards for Elementary Mathematics Specialists: A Reference for Teacher Credentialing and Degree Programs, updated in 2014. This document became a launch point for two conferences (2010 and 2011) with participants from twenty-six states including six states with existing programs and certifications seeking to inform and share their work as well as states exploring the development of programs and certifications.

In 2010 ten states had varying EMS Certifications or Endorsements; Arizona, California, Georgia, Michigan, North Carolina, Ohio, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, and Virginia.

In 2015 there are now nineteen, all of the above states plus Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Missouri, New Hampshire, Oklahoma, Oregon, and Pennsylvania plus two additional states near to achieving certification and eight others with work underway.



STaR Fellowships (Service, Teaching, and Research in Mathematics Education)

AMTE supports a network of early career mathematics educators who serve in research universities, teaching universities, and other institutes of higher education that prepare K12 teachers of mathematics. Brookhill sponsored fellows are listed below.

The 2016 cohort of Brookhill STaR Fellows:

  • Noelle Conforti Preszler, University of Washington, Seattle, WA
  • Justin Dimmel, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI
  • Lynsey Gibbons, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN
  • Hyunyi Jung, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN
  • Elizabeth Petit Cunningham, University of Nebraska - Lincoln, NE
  • Kimberly Seashore, University of California - Berkeley, CA
  • Kathleen Stoehr, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
  • Jenna Tague, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH
  • Rajeev Virmani, University of San Francisco, CA
  • Nicole Wessman-Enzinger, Illinois State University, Normal, IL


The 2015 cohort of Brookhill STaR Fellows:

  • Mollie Appelgate, Iowa State University, Aimes, IA
  • Shawn Broderick, Keene Sate College, Keene, NH
  • Theodore Chao, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH
  • Lara Dick, Bucknell University, Lewisburg, PA
  • Roger Fisher, Montana State University, Bozeman, MT
  • Heather Gallivan, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, IA
  • Liang Senfeng, University of Wisconsin – Stevens Point, WI
  • Diana Moss, Appalachian State University, Boone, NC
  • Marrielle Myers, Kennesaw State University, Kennesaw, GA
  • Amanda Sawyer, James Madison University, Harrisonburg, VA


The 2014 cohort of Brookhill STaR Fellows:

  • Katherine E. Lewis, University of Washington, Seattle, WA
  • Susanna Molitoris Miller, Kennesaw State University, Kennesaw, GA
  • Cynthia Orona, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR
  • Barbara Swartz, McDaniel College, Westminster, MD


*The STaR Program Continues to Rise

"All the efforts to ensure that mathematics is given the attention it deserves in the nation's schools will be for naught without an adequate supply of mathematically knowledgeable and properly trained mathematics teachers."

– Foundations for Success, The National Mathematics Advisory Panel, 2008